Sinhala Edition English Edition
Facebook Official Fanpage Google+ Official Page Official Twitter Account Rss Feed

Gossip Lanka Latest


 A technically-named list of Ministers soon -- President   Dayasiri shows backwardness in leaving Minister post  Who are the Ministers removed from SLFP and surfacing from UNP?
A technically-named list of Ministers soon -- President 
Dayasiri shows backwardness in leaving Minister post
Who are the Ministers removed from SLFP and surfacing from UNP?

The new cabinet is to take their oaths next week; thus displaying the early signs of a political revolution which is to take place after the no-confidence and list of such Ministers are to be prepared on a sound, technical foundation accompanying changes in their portfolios, said the President Maithripala Sirisena when addressing a media briefing comprising leaders of the media. He
also said that a combined committee of both the UNP and the SLFP has been appointed in that respect.

5 Ministers of the 6 Ministers who voted for the no-confidence against the Prime Minister have informed the United National Party that they would be resigning from their positions and a decision would be taken in this respect by the party executive committee, it is reported. Among them are Chandima Weerakkody, John Seneviratna, S.B. Dissanaika, Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa while Dayasiri Jayasekera is not among them.

A document with signatures of 33 backbencher Mps of the United National Party referring to all ministers who cast their votes for the no-confidence motion and that they should be expelled with a no-confidence against them is to be forwarded to the speaker today. Political sources have revealed that preparations are underway that Palitha Range Bandara, Buddhika Pathirana, Sujeeva Serasingha, Palitha Thevarapperuma and Wasantha Senanayaka are to be bestowed portfolios as cabinet ministers.  Apart from them, names of Nalin Bandara,, S.M. Markkar, Mujabar Rahuman and Hector Appuhamy have been nominated for positions of deputy ministers. President Maithripala Sirisena stated today that he invites any member of parliament of the 225 Mps in parliament to come forward to strengthen the parliament with the intention of drawing the SLFP Mps towards the government. The President added today that because of distorted conditions prevailing in the election system, the local government Act should be amended without delay.

Gossip Lanka Previous News